Looking to relax and enjoy some quiet escapism? Here are some excellent book titles that are perfect for senior citizens to enjoy this time of year.

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
This is a classic story of forbidden love. Major Ernest Pettigrew is a true gentleman – with a wry sense of humor. He leads a quiet life in the village of Edgecombe St. Mary in the English countryside. When his brother dies, he befriends local Pakistani shopkeeper, Ms. Jasmina Ali. They bond over the loss of their respective spouses and a love of literature. As their friendship grows into romance, village residents struggle to come to grips with their cultural differences. Will their relationship survive? Find out!

You’re Only Old Once by Dr. Suess
It’s been hailed as the perfect gift for anyone over 50. Follow Suess’s Everyman through his appointments at the Golden Years Clinic and all the chaos that ensues. This book is a humorous respite full of clever wit and wisdom.

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
Robinson writes in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman in this novel - an intimate tale of three generations of the same family from the Civil War era to the twentieth century. The book’s narrative comes from the point of view of its dynamic main character, Congregationalist minister John Ames, whose voice is said to be “luminous” and “unforgettable”.

The Measure of My Days by Florida Scott-Maxwell
This book explores the strange and unique paradox of one’s later years – the combination of feeling cut off from the past and out of step with the present. When your body no longer feels like itself, but your mind is more enriched than ever. This book celebrates individuality in a mass society, and address how to remain strong through suffering, loss, and limitations. A must-read for all older adults!